Jury at Locarno Filmfestival 2014   

Both organizations appoint  Ecumenical Juries at numerous film festivals, such as Cannes (since 1974), Montréal, Leipzig, Berlin, Karlovy Vary, Mannheim-Heidelberg, Fribourg, Kyiv, Cottbus, Zlin, Yerevan, Warsaw and Miskolc. In Locarno the jury is composed of six members from different countries and cultures, working as film journalists, critics, theologians, researchers or teachers. Coming from the Catholic, Protestant, Anglican or Orthodox churches the members, open to inter-cultural and inter-religious dialogue are completely independent in their decisions. During the festival they meet to analyse and comment on the films.

The Ecumenical Jury has a particular perspective. It awards prizes (as well as commendations) to directors in the international competition who have shown genuine talent and succeeded in portraying human experience that is in harmony with the gospel or in sensitising viewers to spiritual, human or social questions and values. It honours works of high cinematographic quality, which bear witness to the power of film as an artistic medium for communication and visual expression. It draws attention to those works of quality which touch the spiritual dimension of our existence, expressing the values of justice, human dignity, respect for the environment, peace and solidarity. These values, shared in all cultures, are also those of the Gospel.

In Locarno the award included prize money of 20 000 CHF provided by the Reformed Church and Catholic Church of Switzerland, and is committed for the film distribution in Switzerland. An ecumenical service, organized by the ecumenical working groupe of the Churches in the Kanton Tessin will be held on Sunday, August 10th at 11.15 a.m. in the Church S. Maria Assunta (»Chiesa nuova»), via Cittadella, followed by a get together in the cloister offering a contact with the members of the Ecumenical Jury, as they are: Alyda Faber, Halifax (Canada), Blanca Maria Monzón, Buenos Aires (Argentina), Milja Radovic, Edinburgh (United Kingdom), Ingrid Ruillat, Lyon (France), Florin-Ioan Silaghi, Bucharest (Romania), and Andreas Engelschalk, Wetzlar (Germany) as its president. 

Tuesday, 29 July 2014, 13:53